INTRODUCTION TO THE LOTUS SAMETIME SERVER AND THE LOTUS SAMETIME ENTERPRISE MEETING SERVER (EMS)


Screen sharing
Screen sharing is a Sametime collaborative activity that enables multiple users to work within a single application on one user's computer. Geographically dispersed users in remote locations can collaborate within a single application to produce a document, spreadsheet, blueprint, or any other file generated from a Windows application. Screen sharing is sometimes also referred to as "application sharing."

In a meeting that includes screen sharing, one end user uses the screen-sharing tool in the Sametime Meeting Room client to share a screen or application on the user's local computer with other meeting participants in remote locations. The other meeting participants also use the screen-sharing tools of the Sametime Meeting Room client on their local computers to view and make changes to the shared screen or application. It is not necessary for the remote users to have the application that is being shared installed on their local systems. (The remote users share a single instance of the application that is running on only one meeting participant's computer.)

Only one user at a time can be in control of the shared screen. Most users see the initials of the user who controls the shared screen beside the cursor. The person who is sharing the screen does not see the initials when someone else controls the shared screen. The person who is sharing the screen must view the Participant List details to confirm who controls the shared screen.

The administrator controls whether this collaborative activity is available for meetings on the Sametime server from the Configuration - Meeting Services - General tab of the Sametime Administration Tool.

Screen sharing is supported by T.120 components of the Meeting Services on the Sametime server. For more information about using this collaborative activity in a meeting, see the Sametime end-user online help.

See also